Legislative Assembly of Ontario



Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

Journal

des débats

(Hansard)

Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

SP-9 SP-9

Standing Committee on Social Policy

Comité permanent de la politique sociale

Committee business

Travaux du comité

2nd Session 42nd Parliament Wednesday 23 March 2022 2^e session 42^e législature

Mercredi 23 mars 2022

Chair: Natalia Kusendova Clerk: Vanessa Kattar Présidente : Natalia Kusendova Greffière : Vanessa Kattar

Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

https://www.ola.org/

Index inquiries

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7400.

Renseignements sur l'index

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7400.

House Publications and Language Services Room 500, West Wing, Legislative Building 111 Wellesley Street West, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario





Service linguistique et des publications parlementaires
Salle 500, aile ouest, Édifice du Parlement
111, rue Wellesley ouest, Queen's Park
Toronto ON M7A 1A2
Téléphone, 416-325-7400; télécopieur, 416-325-7430
Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

CONTENTS

Wednesday 23 March 2022

| Committee business SP-1 | 147 |
|-------------------------|-----|
|-------------------------|-----|

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY

Wednesday 23 March 2022

COMITÉ PERMANENT DE LA POLITIQUE SOCIALE

Mercredi 23 mars 2022

The committee met at 1301 in committee room 1.

COMMITTEE BUSINESS

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Bhutila Karpoche): Good afternoon, everyone. The Standing Committee on Social Policy will now come to order. As always, please wait to be recognized by myself before speaking. All questions and comments will need to go through the Chair.

On the agenda is committee business. Are there any motions? MPP Anand has a motion.

Mr. Deepak Anand: Before I start with the motion, I just want to acknowledge that I have Nabiha and Ryan Whealey in the room. As I always say, I don't know what I would do without you, Ryan.

Over to my motion: Madam Chair, I move that the committee shall enter closed session for the purposes of organizing committee business.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Bhutila Karpoche): Any discussions or comments? MPP Burch.

Mr. Jeff Burch: I just want it on the record that we're opposed to going into closed session for business, and we request a recorded vote.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Bhutila Karpoche): Any more questions and discussions? MPP Fraser.

Mr. John Fraser: I don't believe we have to go into closed session to do it either—no need.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Bhutila Karpoche): Further comments?

Mr. Deepak Anand: Absolutely, Chair. I can comment a little bit. What we're trying to do next is not committee business. We're just going to be talking about—it's like a subcommittee, and when we have a subcommittee, it is done in closed session. We are doing exactly what we do usually as a protocol.

So with that, I move the motion that we should enter closed session for the purposes of organizing committee business, not the committee business.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Bhutila Karpoche): MPP Fraser.

Mr. John Fraser: No, it's not like a subcommittee, because inside a subcommittee, we would actually have three parties that would have to come to an agreement, and that was a way of negotiating it. Because there are only two parties right now, you're not having that kind of negotiation.

I think for it to be out in the open and negotiated, there's nothing wrong with that and we don't really need to go in. That's all I'm going to say—nothing else.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Bhutila Karpoche: Any further comments? MPP Sattler.

Ms. Peggy Sattler: I just wanted to add my objection to proceeding to closed session to organize committee business. I think that the public has a right to hear the discussion that's going to take place around the business of a committee that's supposed to be looking at issues that the public is very keenly interested in, so I think that that discussion should be held in public.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Bhutila Karpoche): Thank you. Any further comments? All those in favour, please raise your hand.

Aves

Anand, Oosterhoff, Pang, Sabawy, Scott, Skelly.

Navs

Burch, Fraser, Sattler.

The Vice-Chair (Ms. Bhutila Karpoche): The motion is carried.

Moving into a closed session, we're going to recess now for five minutes to allow the Clerk to confirm that the committee is ready to proceed. Thank you.

The committee recessed at 1304 and later continued in closed session.

STANDING COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL POLICY

Chair / Présidente

Ms. Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre / Mississauga-Centre PC)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Présidente

Ms. Bhutila Karpoche (Parkdale–High Park ND)

Mr. Aris Babikian (Scarborough–Agincourt PC)

Mr. Jeff Burch (Niagara Centre / Niagara-Centre ND)

Ms. Amy Fee (Kitchener South-Hespeler / Kitchener-Sud-Hespeler PC)

Mr. Michael Gravelle (Thunder Bay-Superior North / Thunder Bay-Supérieur-Nord L)

Mr. Joel Harden (Ottawa Centre / Ottawa-Centre ND)

Mr. Mike Harris (Kitchener-Conestoga PC)

Ms. Bhutila Karpoche (Parkdale-High Park ND)

Ms. Natalia Kusendova (Mississauga Centre / Mississauga-Centre PC)

Mrs. Robin Martin (Eglinton-Lawrence PC)

Mr. Jim McDonell (Stormont–Dundas–South Glengarry PC)

Ms. Effie J. Triantafilopoulos (Oakville North–Burlington / Oakville-Nord–Burlington PC)

Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Deepak Anand (Mississauga–Malton PC)

Mr. John Fraser (Ottawa South / Ottawa-Sud L)

Mr. Sam Oosterhoff (Niagara West / Niagara-Ouest PC)

Mr. Billy Pang (Markham–Unionville PC)

Mr. Sheref Sabawy (Mississauga-Erin Mills PC)

Ms. Peggy Sattler (London West / London-Ouest ND)

Ms. Laurie Scott (Haliburton-Kawartha Lakes-Brock PC)

Ms. Donna Skelly (Flamborough–Glanbrook PC)

Clerk / Greffière

Ms. Vanessa Kattar

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Heather Conklin, research officer, Research Services