Legislative Assembly of Ontario



Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

Journal des débats (Hansard)

T-1 T-1

**Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills** 

Comité permanent des règlements et des projets de loi d'intérêt privé

Organization Organisation

2<sup>nd</sup> Session 42<sup>nd</sup> Parliament Wednesday 27 October 2021 2<sup>e</sup> session 42<sup>e</sup> législature

Mercredi 27 octobre 2021

Chair: Aris Babikian Clerk: Isaiah Thorning Président : Aris Babikian Greffier : Isaiah Thorning

#### Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

#### Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

https://www.ola.org/

### **Index inquiries**

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7400.

### Renseignements sur l'index

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7400.

House Publications and Language Services Room 500, West Wing, Legislative Building 111 Wellesley Street West, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario





Service linguistique et des publications parlementaires
Salle 500, aile ouest, Édifice du Parlement
111, rue Wellesley ouest, Queen's Park
Toronto ON M7A 1A2
Téléphone, 416-325-7400; télécopieur, 416-325-7430
Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

# **CONTENTS**

# Wednesday 27 October 2021

Election of Chair
-------------------

#### LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

## ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

## STANDING COMMITTEE ON REGULATIONS AND PRIVATE BILLS

#### Wednesday 27 October 2021

# COMITÉ PERMANENT DES RÈGLEMENTS ET DES PROJETS DE LOI D'INTÉRÊT PRIVÉ

Mercredi 27 octobre 2021

The committee met at 0900 in committee room 1 and by video conference.

#### ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Isaiah Thorning): The Standing Committee on Regulations and Private Bills will now come to order.

Good morning, honourable members. It is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations? Mr. Coe.

**Mr. Lorne Coe:** I nominate MPP Aris Babikian to be the Chair of the committee.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Isaiah Thorning): Does the member accept the nomination?

Mr. Aris Babikian: Yes, I do.

The Clerk of the Committee (Mr. Isaiah Thorning): Thank you. Are there any further nominations? There being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Mr. Babikian elected Chair of the committee.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): Good morning, everyone. Good morning, colleagues. Thank you very much for entrusting me with this job. I will do my best to fulfill the requirements of the job and lead this committee.

I want to confirm the attendees. In the room with us today we have MPP Lorne Coe, MPP Paul Miller and MPP Fraser. Thank you very much, all of you.

Now I would like to ask the members who are joining us virtually to confirm their presence and their whereabouts. MPP Daisy Wai? MPP Miller? Hello? Colleagues who are joining us virtually, can you please confirm your presence and your whereabouts? MPP Daisy Wai? Can you hear me, MPP Wai? MPP Roberts?

Okay. We're going to take a couple of minutes to sort out the technical difficulties. We're having a miscommunication with our colleagues who have joined us virtually.

Colleagues, can you hear me? MPP Wai, can you hear me? MPP Roberts, can you hear me? MPP Wai, can you hear us?

Mrs. Daisy Wai: Yes.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): Okay, great. Thank you very much.

MPP Roberts, can you hear us?

Mr. Jeremy Roberts: Yes, I can, Chair.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): Okay. MPP Miller, can you hear us?

Mr. Norman Miller: Yes.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): Okay, great. Thank you very much, colleagues. My apology for the delay. We had technical difficulties. I would like you to confirm your presence and whereabouts. MPP Wai?

**Mrs. Daisy Wai:** Yes, Mr. Chair. This is MPP Daisy Wai of Richmond Hill. I am here, present, in Toronto.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): Thank you. MPP Roberts?

**Mr. Jeremy Roberts:** Hi, Chair. Apologies for the background noise. I am present and in Ontario.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): Great, thank you. MPP Miller?

**Mr. Norman Miller:** Yes, good morning, Chair. It's MPP Norm Miller, and I am in Parry Sound–Muskoka.

**The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian):** Thank you. MPP Ke? MPP Ke? MPP Vincent Ke, can you confirm your presence and whereabouts?

**Mr. Vincent Ke:** Hi. Good morning, Committee Chair. I'm Vincent Ke of Don Valley North. I'm in Toronto.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): Okay. Thank you very much. Do we have anyone else joining us virtually?

**Mr. Dave Smith:** This is MPP Dave Smith. I'm currently being driven to Queen's Park.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): MPP Smith, can you confirm your presence, and where are you?

**Mr. Dave Smith:** This is MPP Dave Smith, and I am currently being driven to Queen's Park.

The Chair (Mr. Aris Babikian): Okay, great. Thank you very much.

Colleagues, thank you for your confirmation. Having said that, we had our initial meeting and we have a new Chair. We don't have any other items on the agenda, so I will adjourn this meeting until further notice from the Clerk. Any questions? I see none.

Thank you very much to all of you for your participation, and have a nice day.

The committee adjourned at 0909.

#### STANDING COMMITTEE ON REGULATIONS AND PRIVATE BILLS

### Chair / Président

Mr. Aris Babikian (Scarborough–Agincourt PC)

#### Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. John Fraser (Ottawa South / Ottawa-Sud L)

Mr. Aris Babikian (Scarborough–Agincourt PC) Mr. Lorne Coe (Whitby PC)

Mr. John Fraser (Ottawa South / Ottawa-Sud L)

Mr. Vincent Ke (Don Valley North / Don Valley-Nord PC)

Ms. Laura Mae Lindo (Kitchener Centre / Kitchener-Centre ND)

Mr. Paul Miller (Hamilton East-Stoney Creek / Hamilton-Est-Stoney Creek ND)

Mr. Billy Pang (Markham-Unionville PC)

Mr. Jeremy Roberts (Ottawa West-Nepean / Ottawa-Ouest-Nepean PC)

Mr. Dave Smith (Peterborough-Kawartha PC)

Mrs. Daisy Wai (Richmond Hill PC)

Mr. Jamie West (Sudbury ND)

### Substitutions / Membres remplaçants

Mr. Norman Miller (Parry Sound–Muskoka PC)

#### Clerk / Greffier

Mr. Isaiah Thorning

### Staff / Personnel

Ms. Lauren Warner, research officer, Research Services