Legislative Assembly of Ontario



Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

Journal des débats (Hansard)

E-1

Standing Committee on Estimates

E-1

Comité permanent des budgets des dépenses

Organization

Organisation

1st Session 42nd Parliament Tuesday 7 August 2018

1^{re} session 42^e législature Mardi 7 août 2018

Chair: Peter Tabuns Clerk: Timothy Bryan Président : Peter Tabuns Greffier : Timothy Bryan

Hansard on the Internet

Hansard and other documents of the Legislative Assembly can be on your personal computer within hours after each sitting. The address is:

Le Journal des débats sur Internet

L'adresse pour faire paraître sur votre ordinateur personnel le Journal et d'autres documents de l'Assemblée législative en quelques heures seulement après la séance est :

https://www.ola.org/

Index inquiries

Reference to a cumulative index of previous issues may be obtained by calling the Hansard Reporting Service indexing staff at 416-325-7400.

Renseignements sur l'index

Adressez vos questions portant sur des numéros précédents du Journal des débats au personnel de l'index, qui vous fourniront des références aux pages dans l'index cumulatif, en composant le 416-325-7400.

Hansard Reporting and Interpretation Services Room 500, West Wing, Legislative Building 111 Wellesley Street West, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Telephone 416-325-7400; fax 416-325-7430 Published by the Legislative Assembly of Ontario



Service du Journal des débats et d'interprétation Salle 500, aile ouest, Édifice du Parlement 111, rue Wellesley ouest, Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A2 Téléphone, 416-325-7400; télécopieur, 416-325-7430 Publié par l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario

ISSN 1181-6465

CONTENTS

Tuesday 7 August 2018

Election of Chair	E-1
Election of Vice-Chair	E-1
Appointment of subcommittee	E-1

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ONTARIO

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ESTIMATES

Tuesday 7 August 2018

The committee met at 0903 in committee room 1.

ELECTION OF CHAIR

The Clerk pro tem (Mr. Christopher Tyrell): Good morning, honourable members. It is my duty to call upon you to elect a Chair. Are there any nominations?

Ms. Judith Monteith-Farrell: I am pleased to move Peter Tabuns for Chair.

The Clerk pro tem (Mr. Christopher Tyrell): Okay. Does the member accept the nomination?

Mr. Peter Tabuns: I do.

The Clerk pro tem (Mr. Christopher Tyrell): Are there any further nominations? There being no further nominations, I declare the nominations closed and Mr. Tabuns elected Chair of the committee.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Thank you. Thank you all.

Applause.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): A frenzy of enthusiasm, but I appreciate it.

Mrs. Gila Martow: For the record, I'd like to say that the honourable member chaired my committee for the last few years and did a wonderful job, so thank you.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Thank you, Gila. Thank you very much.

With that, we go to election of Vice-Chair—sorry. *Interjection*.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): I appreciate the suggestion.

ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Good morning, honourable members. It's my duty to entertain a motion for Vice-Chair. Are there any motions?

Ms. Judith Monteith-Farrell: I'm pleased to move Wayne Gates as Vice-Chair.

ASSEMBLÉE LÉGISLATIVE DE L'ONTARIO

COMITÉ PERMANENT DES BUDGETS DES DÉPENSES

Mardi 7 août 2018

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Are there any others? There are none.

A motion has been moved by Ms. Monteith-Farrell. Is there any debate? There's none. Are members ready to vote? Shall the motion carry? Carried.

APPOINTMENT OF SUBCOMMITTEE

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Subcommittee appointment: Do we have a motion to appoint the subcommittee? Ms. Martow?

Mrs. Gila Martow: I move that a subcommittee on committee business be appointed to meet from time to time at the call of the Chair or at the request of any member thereof to consider and report to the committee on the business of the committee;

That the presence of all members of the subcommittee is necessary to constitute a meeting; and

That the subcommittee be composed of the following members: the Chair as Chair, Mr. Pettapiece and Ms. Monteith-Farrell; and

That substitution be permitted on the subcommittee.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Any discussion or comments? If none, I'll put the question. Shall the motion carry? Carried.

Now we can go on to closed session.

Interjection.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Ms. Monteith-Farrell, please?

Ms. Judith Monteith-Farrell: I would like to move that the committee move to room 151 because it has an enhanced audiovisual capacity.

The Chair (Mr. Peter Tabuns): Are there any concerns? Any discussion on the part of other members of the committee? People are comfortable with that? All those in favour? Opposed? Carried.

Okay. Thank you. Now we can go into closed session. *The committee continued in closed session at 0907.*

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ESTIMATES

Chair / Président Mr. Peter Tabuns (Toronto–Danforth ND)

Vice-Chair / Vice-Président

Mr. Wayne Gates (Niagara Falls ND)

Mr. Stan Cho (Willowdale PC) Ms. Jill Dunlop (Simcoe North / Simcoe-Nord PC) Mr. John Fraser (Ottawa South / Ottawa-Sud L) Mr. Wayne Gates (Niagara Falls ND) Mr. Stephen Lecce (King–Vaughan PC) Mrs. Gila Martow (Thornhill PC) Ms. Judith Monteith-Farrell (Thunder Bay–Atikokan ND) Ms. Lindsey Park (Durham PC) Mr. Randy Pettapiece (Perth–Wellington PC) Mr. Peter Tabuns (Toronto–Danforth ND)

> **Clerk pro tem / Greffier par intérim** Mr. Christopher Tyrell

Staff / Personnel

Ms. Laura Anthony, research officer, Research Services Mr. Jason Apostolopoulos, research officer, Research Services